The Map of the Galapagos Islands

Map of the Galapagos Islands

The map displays the unique islands that are a part of the Galapagos archipelago.  There are 14 main islands (displayed above) and 44 islets in this area.  Each area contains a rich and different landscape that contributes to the biodiversity inhabiting each island.  The volcanic island of San Isabela contains the second largest active volcano in the world.  The island of Floreana has the only natural freshwater spring in all the islands, making it one of the first islands to be settled by pirates and other human settlers.  San Cristobal contained ‘aa aa’ volcanic rock, which is the most common found on all the islands.  Each island contains microclimates that have sharp contrasts, like the arid lowlands to the lush and humid highlands of Santa Cruz.  Each of these conditions and other support endemic creatures like the marine iguanas and the Galapagos tortoises, sharks and penguins found nowhere else in the world.

Islands from Top and right to left:  Isla Pinta, Isla Marchena, Isla Genovesa, Isla de San Cristóbal, Isla Española, Isla Santa Fe,  Isla Baltra, Isla Santa Cruz, Isla Floreana, Isla Santiago, Isla Rábida, Isla Pinzón,  Isla Isabela, and Isla Fernandina